Love Letters

Love Letters

A celebration of all kinds of love, from romantic, platonic and familiar, to the love of nature. Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel’s Overture in C major ripples with light, delicacy and joie de vivre. Clara Schumann’s Piano Concerto explodes with the passion, frustration and longing of her secret engagement to her future husband under soloist Sara Davis Buechner’s flashing fingers. Robert Schumann’s poetic Manfred Overture, inspired by Byron’s tragic hero, weaves ardor with despair. Felix Mendelssohn’s Scottish Symphony is a love letter to the haunting history and evocative landscape of the British Isles.

Event Details

Monday, February 11, 7:30 pm
Weill Hall


Sarah Ioannides, guest conductor    

Sara Davis Buencher, piano

Program & Information

MENDELSSOHN-HENSEL : Overture in C major for Orchestra
CLARA SCHUMANN : Concerto in A minor for Piano and Orchestra, Opus 7
ROBERT SCHUMANN : Overture to Manfred in E-flat major for Orchestra, Opus 115
MENDELSSOHN : Symphony No 3 in A minor, Opus 56, Scottish