MTT Conducts Tchaikovsky's
Yefim Bronfman, piano

MTT conducts Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto No. 1


Michael Tilson Thomasconductor
Yefim Bronfmanpiano
The San Francisco Symphony


The incomparable Yefim Bronfman joins the San Francisco Symphony for one of the towering masterworks of Russian Romanticism—and one of Bronfman’s signature offerings—Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto.

Conductor Michael Tilson Thomas follows with Prokofiev’s otherworldly, outrageous, and over-the-top Third Symphony, based on material from the composer’s daring opera The Fiery Angel.

The evening begins with the West Coast premiere of Lineage by young Canadian composer Zosha Di Castri, commissioned as part of the San Francisco Symphony’s innovative New Voices partnership with the New World Symphony and Boosey & Hawkes.

Thursday, September 12, 8:00 pm
Weill Hall
Price: $20-$156

Program & Information

Zosha Di Castri
          Lineage (new Voices Commission)

          Piano Concerto No. 1

          Symphony No. 3

Concert Length: Approx. 1h 40m including intermission. 

Inside Music, an informative talk with Peter Grunberg, begins one hour prior to the concert. Free for all ticketholders.